Monday, June 2, 2014

Surtex 2014 - Our Artist Community


As I juggle after show follow-ups with art submissions and new art requests, is fun to write articles for this community and allow some creative breaks. It's a good thing that I enjoy writing as much as I like creating art!

Paul, Martha and I at the show
I am also delighted to hang around with wonderful and inspiring people and artists. This Surtex has been very fun and we had such a wonderful time with many artists and friends: Cathy Heck and her family, Ronnie Walter, Stephanie Ryan, Sue Zipkin, Paul Brent and our new but unforgettable corner booth neighbors Martha Collins and her sister Betsy, Gina Martin and Kelly Portfolio.

Many other amazing artists and friends came by to say hi or to doodle. I apologize for not taking a picture or spending enough time with you all but I want to thank you for stopping by and connecting up with us!



OTHER AFTER-SURTEX BLOG POSTS

It's my advice to newbies and veterans to read up on more than just one or two after-show posts as it helps understand more about the show from different perspectives. I tried to capture all of them below (posted in random sequence), however there are so many that I am sure I missed some - not out of dislike, just lack of time to search for all of them.

by Josephine Kimberling
Surtex 2014, Year 4

by Cathy Heck
Surtex 2014, Part 1: Stitching Up a Booth


by Ming Platt
Surtex 2014 - A Recap of My Experience


by Tammie Bennett
a (baker's) dozen observations from a SURTEX first timer


by Rachelle Panagarry
Surtex - what an adventure


by Kaitlin Goodey
Surtex Follow Up


by Rebecca Baer
Surtex | Art Licensing


by Valerie Hart
SURTEX 2014 RECAP - a dream come true!


by Leah Hoelsher
Surtex 2014: Return of the Backpacker


by Victoria Johnson Surtex - jumping off a cliff with a well-constructed parachute!

by Kim Moulder
I Did It! My Rirst SURTEX Experience. {part one}


by Sarah Ehlinger
How to Succeed at Surtex - 5 Great Tips for a Smashing Debut


by Rachel Gresham
Surtex 2014


by Bari Ackerman
Surtex re-cap, Part Two: What I've learned


by Meganhain
surtex year 2: on a thing called "luck"




ARTISTS DOODLE BOARD

This year we again provided a doodle board in our booth for visiting artists. What a fun and beautiful parade! Some really felt the pressure of creating a doodle right then and there but I think that, despite it all, they did a fab job. A special thank you goes out to Kim Hawes, the brave starter of the 2014 board!

This year we had the idea of providing 3 colors for our Doodle Board to make the artwork more lively and fun! Hopefully, we captured all the names of those who left a cute doodle on our board, but if I missed anyone, please contact me right away and I will add you to the list.




Cathy Heck & Julianne Heck - www.cathyheckstudio.com
Ellen Heck - www.ellenheck.com
Ronnie Walter - www.ronniewalter.com
Martha Collins - www.marthacollinsstudio.com
Sue Zipkin - www.suezipkin.com
Beth Logan - www.artstuffltd.com
Sharyn Sowell - www.sharynsowell.com
Ming Platt - www.mingplatt.com
Stephanie Ryan - www.stephanieryandesign.com
Kathleen Francour - www.kfrancour.com
Shell Rummel - www.shellrummel.com
Rose Mary Berlin - www.rosemaryberlin.com
Cherish Flieder - www.somethingtocherish.com
Brenda Manley - www.brendamanleydesigns.com
Mirdinara - www.mirdinara.com
Madart - www.madartgallery.net
Dariana Cruz - www.daridesignstudio.com
Monna Morton - www.facebook.com/MonnaMortonDesign
Debbie Taylor-Kernan - www.debbietaylorkerman.com
Feng Liang Design - www.fengliangdesign.com
Kim Gunn - www.kgartstudio.com
Kim Hawes - www.kimhawesdesign.com
Machi Tantillo - www.elraysuptop.com
Mary Gartner - www.artsdg.com
Madeline Faiella - www.madelinefaiella.com
Sarah Hudock - www.sarahhudock.com
Jenny Morgan - www.afreshbunch.com
Miriam Bos - www.miriambos.com
Pim Pimlada - www.pimlada.com
Karen Beers - no website yet
Frances Tyrrell - www.francestyrell.com
Corinne Haig - www.corinnehaig.com
Jennifer Paganelli - www.sisboom.com
Farida Zaman - www.faridazaman.com
Murphy’s Musings - www.murphymusings.com
Danilo Machuca - www.behance.net/jdmachuca
Oksana Danziger - www.oksanaadanzigerdesign.com
Jan Carlson - www.wildangeldesign.com
Pauline Grayson - www.muffingrayson.com
Bakula Nayak - www.packof2.com
Sarah Frederking - www.sarahfrederikingdesign.com
Cathy Hunt - www.cathyhuntstudio.net
Ann Troe - www.anniesdoodlebugz.com
Zakiaz - www.zakiazdesigns.com
Seton McGlennon - www.setonmcglennon.com




Post a Comment